Blog

The Duplicate Friend Request

Someone duplicates a social network profile belonging to a friend and then adds you. Once you confirm, the person has access to personal information that can be used to hack into your accounts, such as your birthday, parents’ names, and pets’ names. They can also then send out malicious links that you would be tempted to click and requests for money.

Do not accept friend requests from people you don’t know. If someone you are already friends with adds you as a friend, reach out to them offline and confirm whether or not they have a second account. Do not share private information that could be used to crack your other online accounts security questions. Wait until you return from a trip to post about it; you never know if one of your friends’ accounts is compromised.

No Comments

Leave a Comment